

<u>Student Government Association</u> Sam Houston State University

A member of The Texas State University System ★ Box 2476 ★ Huntsville, Texas 77340 ★ ♦ 936-294-1938 ★ SGA@shsu.edu ★



Resolution F-23-03 50th Anniversary Recognition

Author: Director Brad Wiliams Sponsor: Vice-President Jared Scott Date: October 31, 2023

Whereas:	The Sam Houston State University Student Government Association acts as the "Official Voice of the Student Body"; and,
Whereas:	Sam Houston State University (SHSU) Student Government Association recognizes the foundation and longevity of the Theta Mu Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Incorporated, charted on the campus of Sam Houston State University April 14 th , 1973;
Whereas:	The Student Government Association recognizes the accomplishments built upon its charter members: Melvin Green, Reginald Archer, Rickey Brown, Conrell Brown, Billy Jacobs, Adolphus Moore Jr., Rodney Williams, Steven Mays, Ed Coleman, Coleman Porter, Harry Hughes, Ronald Evans, and Langston Johnson, Jr., with the assistance of William R. Powell, who was the assistant dean in the Student Life Office, while being a member of Alpha Phi Alpha, which became the first National Pan-Hellenic Council Organization on the campus of Sam Houston State University (SHSU)
Whereas	Student Government Association commemorates The Theta Mu
	Chapter for being scholars and a pillar in the Sam Houston Community by pioneering the path for eight other National Pan-Hellenic Council Organizations on the campus of Sam Houston State University (SHSU).
Whereas: We,	The Student Government Association of Sam Houston State University (SHSU) Acknowledge and support the Fraternity's motto "First of All, Servants of All, We shall transcend All",
Whereas: We	The Student Government Association of Sam Houston State University (SHSU), Acknowledge and support the Theta Mu Chapter Principles which are "Scholarship, fellowship, good character, and the uplifting of humanity; and,

Be it resolved:

We, The Student Government Association of Sam Houston State University (SHSU), respect the Theta Mu Chapter and all accomplishments spanning over your organizations 50 year rich history;

Be it finally resolved:

Copies of this resolution will be sent to The Theta Mu Chapter Alpha Pi Alpha incorporated, Faculty Advisor Jeanine Bias, Dean of Students Chelsea Smith, Assistant Dean of Students Victoria White, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs Drew Miller, The Houstonian, Channel 7 News and Student Body President Veronica Calderon.

ali Calderon

President

Secretary

The Official Voice of the Student Body